DeKalb County School District

Teaching and Learning

Instructional Frameworks

The Division of Teaching and Learning will ensure a consistent approach to classroom instruction and assessment with the implementation of the department frameworks. The opens in same window icon framework for practice and evidence [ ] highlights how the district's vision, mission, goals, and district practices, strategies, and initiatives should all lead to higher levels of student engagement that will result in student success. The frameworks for teaching and learning identify the following eight areas that directly or indirectly impact student learning outcomes:

  • curricula
  • pedagogy
  • assessment
  • professional development
  • continuous improvement planning
  • district and school policies, procedures, and practices
  • research and evaluation
  • instructional leadership

The set of instructional frameworks also include one that outlines opens in same window icon the seven step process to teaching and learning [ ], which are as follows:

  1. Diagnosing the needs of students
  2. Creating and maintaining classroom profiles
  3. Planning engaging lessons
  4. Teaching the standards using standards-based instruction
  5. Utilizing formative assessments
  6. Re-teaching and providing additional support
  7. Administering summative assessments to validate student learning

Instructional Framework for the Seven Steps to Teaching and Learning

Diagnose Students (Steps One and Two)

Principals and teachers are expected to diagnose the needs of students as a prerequisite for instructional planning. Teachers are expected to become very knowledgeable of their students' reading and math levels, learning style(s) as reflected in the knowledge base of multiple intelligences, and their students' individual aspirations for achievement in school.

Plan for Instruction (Step Three)

Principals and teachers are expected to plan for rigorous instruction in collaborative settings using diagnostic data, standards, and curriculum pacing guides. Teachers are required to use research-based strategies such as Marzano's High Yield Strategies and instructional and assessment strategies all within the context of Webb's Depth of Knowledge and instructional level rubrics, differentiation, and the three-part lesson cycle.

Teach Students (Steps Four and Six)
(foundations include: classroom talk, scaffolding, questioning, collaboration, writing, and literacy

Principals and teachers are expected to utilize engaging strategies in the context of standards-based instruction including the three-part lesson cycle to ensure students are provided every opportunity to demonstrate learning and mastery of the standards.

Assess Students (Steps Five and Seven)

Principals and teachers are expected to assess students formatively and summatively using a variety of formats. The assessment data must be communicated to students and parents and utilized to plan for re-teaching when necessary. The assessment analyses drive the instructional decisions as it pertains to teaching the curriculum standards. The response to intervention (RTI) must be determined and implemented if student learning outcomes so dictate.